Buntingalingaling ….

BuntingI am a member of the Facebook group The Crafternooners, hosted by the lovely and talented Kathryn (we’ll meet soon!). The first project was a big bag, Kathryn’s own design, and that was a huge success so decided was to do a CAL kind of thing every month. bunting This month buntings are on the menu. A lovely project that doesn’t involve much time and you can use any yarn you like.
For my bunting I used Drops Paris cotton for the first little flag. You may remember I am not such a fan of Drops Paris. Yes, I do adore the colours, but the yarn itself, nope. So, on a rainy and dark Wednesday I tried to make a bunting and I wanted to design my own. The two photos above, btw, show you how poor the light (it is still Autumn in July over here) was as the pic with the white border shows you the actual colours. I only made one flag with this cotton as I am planning to use my other cotton for the bunting.
buntingRight, happy to share my little pattern with you, but beware … it’s the quick version, so no detailed photos I’m afraid.

I used a 6mm hook and two colours of Drops Paris.
UK-terms
tr = treble
htr = half treble
dc = double crochet
sl st = slip stitchbuntingRow 1ย  –ย  4:
Start with a magic circle, then work 3tr, 2 ch, 3 tr (3 x), sl st in first tr. Another sl st in next stitch and one in the ch 2 space. (Watch the magic circle-instruction till 1:15)
If you don’t want to do the magic circle just chain 3, close to form a ring and ch 3 (is first tr).
Ch 3 (counts a first tr), 2 tr, ch 2, 3 tr (first ‘corner’).
On the sides always 3 tr + ch 2.
Row 5:
Corners: 3 tr, ch 2, 3 tr.
Sides: 3 htr + ch 2.
After row five fasten off.
buntingRow 6:
Attach new colour and ch 2, 6 tr, 1 dc in a corner space. Other two corners: 1 dc, 6 tr, 1 dc.
Sides:ย  1 dc, 4 tr, 1 dc.
Fasten off and darn in yarn ends. It now measures 16 cm.
That’s all! You can block it to get that perfect triangle shape, but I did not block this one. Yes, I can be so lazy sometimes … Coaster buntingI am going to use my first practice piece flag as a coaster (that doesn’t look bad at all) and I’ll make a nice, proper bunting with other cotton. To be continued …

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

This entry was posted in Crochet, Decorating, Tutorials and patterns and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Buntingalingaling ….

  1. kieravanella says:

    I love the idea of bunting! I’ve been thinking of doing some for my craft room! Nice job!

  2. That is really cute, I always think it’s bunting being fabric ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

