A cake

StoveAlthough it was a busy weekend, I did find some time to bake a cake. In Dutchland we say cake, but I think overseas you call it sponge-cake.
My cakes are always a challenge and usually good for a laugh. You see, I never know how they turn out. I love my stove, as it is not only a stove, it also has a grill and two ovens. However, there is one thing I do miss: a window in the doors. I can’t see what is happening in there during the process of rising and baking and everyone knows you can NOT open the door when a sponge-cake is in the oven. Because if you do open the door your cake will be very flat. Very flat indeed …ChickensAnyway, I thought it is time for a recipe. The recipe I use for my cake is very simple, all you need are some basic ingredients:cakeNB: All at room temperature!
+/- 200 grams self-raising flour
+/- 200 grams fine sugar (caster sugar)
+/- 200 grams soft butter
3 large or 4 small eggs (+/- 200 grams)
1 packet of vanilla sugar
a bit of salt
cinnamon or cookie spices

cakeIn my cake I added also a handful of raisins. Now, about these raisins. I washed them, dried them with a paper kitchen-towel and mixed them with some flour. This prevents them from sinking to the bottom of the cake.cake I greased my baking tin and added some oatmeal. You can also use flour, of course, but I like the effect of the oatmeal. Plus it gives me the idea that it now is a healthy cake. Yeah, right …

First pre-heat your oven at about 160/170 degrees.
I start with mixing the sugar with the soft butter, and the vanilla sugar plus salt. Then I add an egg, one at the time, and after every egg I add a bit of flour. Add some cinnamon powder if you like, or cookie spices. Mix all well for a couple of minutes. The last items that goes in are the raisins.
Bake the cake for about 1 hour and twenty minutes. This cake on the photos was in the oven for 1,5 hour which was a bit too long as the cake was a tad dry inside.
cake cakeNow, isn’t this a masterpiece? Probably not, as it looks like an erupted volcano, but it tasted yummy. And it is so much nicer to crochet and to study with a lovely cappuccino and a piece of home-made cake.Cake and coffeeBliss ….

This entry was posted in Baking, Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A cake

  1. Sharon - says:

    It’s the taste that masters and the texture looks great. In England we use the same recipe and method but would bake it on 180-190 C , divided between two shallower round pans for approx 25mins. It is interesting how things vary between countries! Sharon x

  2. corine24 says:

    Thanks Sharon! Must try the English version sometime!

Leave a Reply

