Tutorial: A strap

Strap1Yay, it’s finished, my little strap for my journal/year-notebook. It is not a big of a deal, this strap, but it have enjoyed making it. A fast project that can be done in one afternoon. Although it took me a bit longer as I had also blankets to work on …

Strap finished2So, maybe you want to make a strap, too. I made mine for an A5-notebook and I made seven little squares.
I am using UK-terms and for this strap I have used a 4mm hook. As I have used different brands of yarn, one yarn is slightly thicker then the other one, is my strap not completely straight (which I happen to like!).

Ch = chain (NL: losse)
Treble crochet (= tr) (US: dc / NL: st)
Yarn over, insert hook in stitch or space, yarn over, pull the loop back through the stitch (three loops on hook), yarn over and pull through two loops on hook (two loops left on hook), yarn over and pull through remaining two loops.

Strap 1Chain 3 and close to a ring. Ch3 (counts as 1 tr), 1 tr (work out of ring) + ch1.???????????????????????????????Yarn over, insert hook in circle, pull yarn on hook, yarn over and pull yarn through 2 loops (two loops left on hook). Yarn over, insert hook in circle, yarn over (see pic above), pull yarn through two loops (three loops left on hook), yarn over and pull yarn through all three loops.
Ch1.
Repeat this six more times. You now have eight clusters. Fasten off.Strap cornerWith new colour ch 3 (counts as 1 tr) + 1 tr, ch2, 2 tr. First corner made.  Strap sideIn next space 2 tr.
In next space 2 tr, ch 2, 2 tr (is a corner). Repeat the rest of this row with 2tr and corners. Strap fasten offFasten off.
Strap square finishedEt voilà …. one tiny mini square. I have joined the squares with the join-as-you-go method by Attic24. The last square you join onto the first one. The last thing I did was crocheting an edge of double crochets (sc for USA-people) so you’ll get a firmer strap.

Strap finished1If you have any questions about this tutorial, please ask!
I made my strap with acrylic yarn which stretches a bit and therefore I didn’t use any buttons. My strap is like an elastic band, basically.

Now, a little talk about copyright. All my tutorials are created for you to use and to enjoy for free. However, if you would like to use them, or copy them (on you own website or blog), please don’t claim them as your own (including photos) and I would appreciate it when you mention my blog. Thank you and happy hooking!

This entry was posted in Crochet, Finished!!!!, Tutorials and patterns and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

