Books vs crochet

books I love books. I adore books.  I breathe books. Maybe that is why have 1000 and a bit books in the house (no, haven’t read them all yet). There are piles of books everywhere, wich makes K (a non-reader, poor little me) slightly nuts. IMG_0506A house without books, is a house without a soul, I once read. Maybe it’s true, I don’t want to go that far, but I do too find a house without books a tad sad. But since I have discovered crochet I read less. A lot less. In 2013 I read 74 books and in 2012 86. I know this as I kept track at Goodreads. Last year? Uhm … not so many and it is all to blame to crochet. But this year I am going to read again.
booksNow, I read everything: novels, classics, thrillers, non-fiction, magazines (like CL and CH&I), everything interesting and that grabs my attention. My goal for this year is that I want to (try to) read all of my Charles Dickens novels, or maybe half of them. So far I have only read Great Expectations, which I loved. Btw, I own about every Dickens book there is. The same goes for the novels of Jane Austen and the Brontës, and lots of other classical writers. I am just very fond of costume drama’s. Love, love, love them. It might not come as a surprise to you that I am an utter  Downton Abbey addict.
IMG_0508This month I am going to start with Bleak House, next to “Five Days” by Douglas Kennedy, who is one of my favourite authors. I ‘discovered’ Kennedy’s books six years ago whilst on holiday in Egypt. The resort had a big library (yay!) with a couple of his books, in English. They always say don’t judged a book by its cover, but that was exactly what I did. The covers were appealing to me and I started to read the first book. I could not put it down. And then I moved on to the next one. I was hooked.
Five daysMeanwhile I’ve read every book he wrote, and my all-time favourites are “Leaving the world” and “The Pursuit Of Happiness”. I have read both books three times so far. This morning the library had another book for me waiting: Five days. So, I am sorry, this is going to be a short blog post. I must read.

This entry was posted in Books, Home and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Books vs crochet

  1. Lovely post – enjoy your reading Corine. Crochet does tend to take over your life! Your post is a good reminder that I can’t actually remember the last time I read a book but I do listen to audiobooks when I crochet 🙂 Does that count???

  2. BellaKarma says:

    I am swooning at the sight of all your books. Have you considered audio books? A fantastic site is loyalbooks.com. They offer thousands of audio books for free (read by volunteers). The books are in the public domain, which means there are many, many classics to choose from! 🙂

  3. Pingback: A book for me | Corine24

Leave a Reply

