Just Tuesday

ViewView willowsMy day began grey, a misty morning that looked like a scene of 19th-century horror movie. Which I love, by the way. A bit like The Woman In White … Dew was dripping from the willows on to the leaves on the ground and it all looked very spooky and Autumn-ish. Spooky and Autumn-ish indeed. It’s the kind of weather that makes you want to crave indoors, wearing some warm pj’s and to enjoy the comfort of the warmth at home. But I had to do some chores so no cocooning yet.
I needed to do some grocery shopping and I wanted to go the library as I had a book waiting for me. But my car refused to do what it is supposed to do. Luckily K was at home, so I took his car, and he heaped up my car’s battery. And so of I went. First a trip to the supermarket, which is a new one. I prefer to do shopping from local shops and markets, but unfortunately we don’t have those over here. Gosh, I would LOVE to live in a town where I could go to the market every single day.
tomatoesAnyway, this new supermarket is pretty cool. I bought some mini tomatoes, you can fill the cup with any sorts you like. Which I did. They even had very dark tomatoes, these were new to me.
Cappuccino and crochet bookWe have a very small library in the next village, which also means a small collection of books. So when I see a nice book on the internet, nine out of ten times, I have to reserve it at the library. This time I wanted to try something new: filet crochet. kitchen windowI would like to make a small edge for my kitchen windows. Can you picture this? I can, but I have never tried filet crochet before. But learning something completely new can give great pleasure. The book I borrowed is called: Stitch collection: filet crochet by Betty Barnden.
filet crochetfilet crochetIn company of a delicious cappuccino and a last piece of scrumptious home-made apple pie I read this book. Ow, these tulips look really cute and very Dutch. Must try those. Just one row to pimp up my windows. Or maybe just ordinary dots. Lovely, too. To be continued ….

xx

This entry was posted in Garden, Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just Tuesday

  1. I think filet crochet was the first sort my mother taught me. It was very popular back then for lace edgings and antimacassars. It’s just row by row, so if you have the right chart you can make lovely shapes. Look forward to seeing what you make. (this is my first piece http://rainbowjunkiecorner.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/0070-firstcrochet.jpg?w=714 I got a bit bored and never finished it.)

  2. corine24 says:

    I think it’s lovely what you have made!

  3. The weather in your pics looks like the one we had in Germany today… Very misty in the morning (and collldd)!
    Take care
    Anne
    http://crochetbetweentwoworlds.blogspot.de

  4. BellaKarma says:

    Oh, that book looks like fun! I love Betty’s “Crochet Stitch Bible.” Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  5. corine24 says:

    I’d better start with something simple …. 🙂

Leave a Reply

