Tutorial Granny Square CygnetCountryBlanket

100Helloooo!!! How are you today? I can not almost believe it but this is my 101st blog post. I only realised that I had written my 100th when I posted that one yesterday.CCB foldedSo as a gift for you, to thank you for your support and lovely comments, and because I’d promised,  I’ve made a tutorial for you.  After finishing the CCB I needed a bit of a break, but now I am all charged up and in the mood to make you this tutorial.
Now, I love making Granny Squares. There are just very satisfying to make as it goes quick and they are easy for beginners to learn. I still get a huge amount of pleasure from making granny squares, because there are so many ways to make them and they are always very colourful. And it is very easy to make your own design.
This particular square is my own pattern and it is a combination of several squares. I have fiddle it to my own taste as I wanted a simple pattern with a circle in the centre and with a great effect. After a bit of  experimenting this is what I created. And I am very happy with how it turned out.
Eerste grannyFor this blue granny square I’ve used Pato Value DK acrylic yarn, with a 4mm hook. The pink one in this tutorial is made with Royal (Zeeman) acrylic yarn. Of course you can use any type of yarn you like. Just make sure to use the correct size hook, check the label of your yarn.
I hope it makes all sense, the way I write this down, as English is not my mother tongue. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to ask.

The pattern is in UK crochet terms where the main stitch is a UK treble.  Stitches used are as follows:
Sl st = slip stitch (US: sl st / NL: halve vaste)
Insert hook into stitch or space, yarn over, pull the loop back through the stitch, then through the loop on your hook.

Treble crochet (tr) (US: dc / NL: st)
Yarn over, insert hook in stitch or space, yarn over, pull the loop back through the stitch (three loops on hook), yarn over and pull through two loops on hook (two loops left on hook), yarn over and pull through remaining two loops.

When using only one color DO NOT cut the yarn after every row. I am just saying …  SAMSUNG To Start::
Chain 4 and join to form a ring. For the first round you will be working out of the hole. Chain 3.
16 trRound 1::
The first chain counts as your first treble. Now make 15 tr (16 tr in total).
Fasten off with a slip stitch, but do not cut the yarn!
spokesRound 2::
Chain 4 (counts as 1 tr + 1ch).
Now work out of the stitches, under the hook. You insert your hook under the ‘v’.
1 tr + 1ch. Repeat this 14 times. At the end you’ll have 16 spokes (see pic above). Fasten off in the first space with a slip stitch.
First sideRound 3::
Chain 3 (counts as first treble).
2 tr, ch2, 3tr, work out from that same space. This is your first corner.
Chain 1. Skip one space (that is the space between two spokes).
In the next space: 3 tr, ch 1. Skip one space.
In the next space: 3 tr, ch 2, 3 tr.
You now have one side made.
Chain 1, skip one space.
Repeat this three more times, so every corner is: 3 tr, ch2, 3 tr, ch1.
On the sides: 3 tr, 1 ch.
fasten offFasten of by making a sl st twice, one under every stitch in the corner. Now insert you hook in the corner space for a last sl st.3 trround 4Round 4::
Chain 3 (counts as first treble).
2 tr, ch2, 3tr, work out from that same space. This is your first corner.
In the next two spaces 3 tr.
NO chain 1 this time between the groups of trebles or corners!! You’ll get a tighter granny this way.
First side is now finished.
Repeat this three more times.
Fasten of by making a sl st twice, one under every stitch in the corner. Now insert you hook in the corner space for a last sl st.
granny completeRound 5::
Round 5 is the same as round 4.
Every corner is 3 tr, ch2, 3 tr. In every space on the side 3 tr. NO chain 1 between the trebles and corners. You can make this granny as big or small (only three rounds) as you like.

That’s it. I hope you enjoy making this granny square just as much as I did.
xx
multi colour grannyThis one I made to show you the difference when you use multiple colours.

All my tutorials are created for you to use and to enjoy for free. However, if you would like to use them, or copy them, please don’t claim them as your own and I would appreciate it when you mention my blog. Thank you and happy hooking!
Two granny's

 

This entry was posted in Crochet, Tutorials and patterns and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

