One year later …

Eerste ketting losseEerste haakwerkIt’s today exactly one year ago I picked up a crochet hook and had N show me how to make slip knot, at my friend M’s house. And then I made this amaaaaaaaazing foundation chain. With some pretty awful yarn, I must say.

I saw M and N hooking all these nice things like birds, slippers, bags and shawls and I just wanted to try it too. I couldn’t remember I had ever learned to crochet a school as a child (the girls had craft class at school), only knitting and embroidery. I probably suppressed my memories about these craft lessons as knitting caused some serious dramas. Now, knitting I hated but embroidery I like a lot. I made a sampler and as teenager and I even embroidered for others and made some money with doing that. Some of my ‘paintings’ were even displayed in a yarnshop, near our village! During those years I have embroidered a couple of Sara Moon-paintings. It was a lot of work as these paintings had soooooo many colours in it. So many shades of brown and beige, pfft …. As I said, a lot of work. A funny detail: when doing some research on Sara Moon I made a HUGE discovery. Sara Moon is not Sara Moon. Sara Moon is the Iranian Bijan Djamalzadeh. Sara Moon borduurMemoAnd I have made this memo-board, which my parents still use in their kitchen! I removed the notes to photograph it so all of these tiny holes are from pins. And then my Dad pinned all the notes back in the right order, dead straight as a ruler.
But back to the crochet. After that first foundation chain I learned myself to crochet with the help of Youtube. There are so many instruction video’s on it, it truly makes it so much easier to learn how to crochet. I am a visual person, I need to see how something is done. You can tell me what to do, but that won’t work, I have to see it. I watched Dutch instruction films, and English spoken films. And then I discovered that there is a difference between American crochet-terms and English crochet-terms. Right … sigh …. I made granny squares, I discovered Pinterest and Ravelry. Soooo many ideas I found on those sites.
When I think about what crochet means to me now, I now know it was life changing. Really, it was. This must sound a bit bonkers or weird, but people who have gone through a difficult time and crochet know what I mean. It gave me a rest and a calmness in a time I didn’t like life very much.
CAL op stoelOne of the first hooky-items I made was my CAL-blanket. I didn’t stick to the pattern and I finished it way before the official ending of the CAL-challenge. That just me, I don’t like to wait week after week for some stitches. And patience is not exactly my middle name.
Now I absolutely love making blankets. It is so comforting making row after row, and to see that blanket growing on your legs. And I like making items that have a purpose, although hooking items just for plain fun brings also a lot of joy.
tin cosybirdTin cosyCushion cover frontBaskettea basketripple on sofaOw, my ripple. I love this blanket so much, I think it’s my favourite blanket so far.
Car blanketdeken op de bankPTT dekenCAL… five blankets I have made, and one nearly done. I think I need a week or two to finish my CCB.
Blankets on legsI am so happy how this blanket turns out, just as I had in mind. Maybe even better. I love the colours and the softness of this blanket. Must start thinking about the border now, and I think it should be a big one.
Daisy'sDoily with flowersMandalaI made some doily’s and mandala’s. So much fun to make and very effective to brighten up your trays and tables. wip wip granny squares blanketAnd there are still some WiP’s waiting for me to finish them. I’ve been a little busy bee this year, a busy bee indeed. Aahh, so much to do, so little time …DaanNew projects are waiting for me already. Tweed yarnCoffee momentBut first, let’s have a cappuccino together. CHeeRS.

xxx

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One year later …

  1. Manon says:

    I love your work. And you.

  2. Your embroidery looks really good but so does the crochet. So many lovely things. I know what you mean about crochet blankets I am suffering a bit from crochet blanket withdrawal symptoms as I am having a break from making any but it does give me more time to do other things!

  3. Miss says:

    The ripple blanket is also my favourite.
    but every thing I saw here is beautiful.
    I am working on my first blanket, and thinking about my next one (a ripple too).
    It is so good to crochet.
    Miss

  4. corine24 says:

    Thank you, Miss! That blanket with the flowers looks lovely!

Leave a Reply

