Tutorial granny square

eigen ontwerp grannyA few weeks ago I made a granny square cushion cover. The granny was my own pattern and I want to share this with you, and I hope you enjoy my effort to make this tutorial (I also have só much more respect for people who make tutorials).
As I really like granny squares with clusters, because they look like flowers, I wanted to make one with clusters. They are not difficult to make, however, if you are an absolute crochet-beginner I recommend to start with a basic granny. It is just my own experience as I learned it the ‘hard way’. Ah, well ….
I am not a professional, far from it, so if you see or read weird instructions, please let me know. And English is not my mother tongue so I might have written down some utter nonsense.

Right, let’s start.
The size of this granny is about 11 cm x 11 cm. Yours can be bigger or smaller, that depends on the yarn and hook you use. I have used a 5 mm hook and different brands of yarn. Please check the label of your yarn which crochet hook to use.

For this tutorial I’ve used light colours, so that you’ll have a good look at the stitches.
detail granny squareI am using UK terms:

Sl st = slip stitch (US: sl st / NL: halve vaste)
Insert hook into stitch or space, yarn over, pull the loop back through the stitch, then through the loop on your hook.

Double crochet (dc) (US: sc / NL: vaste)
Insert hook in space or stitch, yarn over and pull the loop back through the stitch or space (two loops on hook), yarn over and pull through both loops on hook.

Half treble crochet (htr) (US: hdc / NL: h.st.)
Yarn over, insert hook in stitch or space, pull yarn through stitch (now three loops on your hook), yarn over and pull yarn through all three loops. You have now one loop left on your hook.

Treble crochet (tr) (US: dc / NL: st)
Yarn over, insert hook in stitch or space, yarn over, pull the loop back through the stitch (three loops on hook), yarn over and pull through two loops on hook (two loops left on hook), yarn over and pull through remaining two loops.

Double treble crochet (dtr) (US: treble or triple crochet = tr / NL: dubbel stokje): Yarn over TWICE on hook, insert hook into stitch or space, pull yarn through stitch or space, you now have four loops on hook. Yarn over, pull yarn through the two loops (now you have three loops left on your hook). Yarn over, pull yarn through two loops (two loops left on your hook), yarn over, pull yarn through both loops, one loop left on your hook.
dtr
To start:
Chain 5 and join with a slip stitch in the first chain to make a ring.

Round 1:
Chain 3 (counts as 1 tr). (an advice: hold the tail end in your left hand and crochet over it.)
Now yarn over, insert hook into the ring, pull up yarn, pull yarn through two loops (2 loops on hook left). Yarn over, insert hook into the ring, pull up yarn, pull yarn through two loops (3 loops left). Yarn over, pull yarn trough all three loops.

Chain 2.

*Now yarn over, insert hook into the ring, pull up yarn, pull yarn through two loops (2 loops left). Yarn over, insert hook into the ring, pull up yarn, pull yarn through two loops (3 loops left). Yarn over, insert hook into the ring pull up yarn, pull yarn through two loops (4 loops left). Yarn over, pull yarn trough all four loops. Chain 2. *
Repeat between * … * six more times. You now have eight clusters. Fasten off.
round 1Always hold the tail ends firmly and crochet over them.

Round 2:
New colour in any space. Chain 3 (counts as 1 tr).
Now yarn over, insert hook into a space, pull up yarn, pull yarn through two loops (2 loops on hook left). Yarn over, insert hook into the space, pull up yarn, pull yarn through two loops (3 loops left). Yarn over, pull yarn trough all three loops.
round 2Chain 2.

*Yarn over, insert hook into the SAME SPACE, pull up yarn, pull yarn through two loops (2 loops on hook left). Yarn over, insert hook into same space, pull up yarn, pull yarn through two loops (3 loops on hook left). Yarn over, insert hook into the same space, pull up yarn, pull yarn through two loops (4 loops on hook left). Yarn over, pull yarn trough all four loops. Chain 2. *

round 2 finishedRepeat between * … * six more times. You now have eight double clusters, so sixteen clusters in total. Fasten off.

Round 3:
Start in any space with a new colour. I always start a new colour were I ended the previous round so I can hold the tail end of the new colour and the tail end of the previous round.
Chain 3 (counts as 1 tr), 2 tr.
Round 3Chain 2.
In the next space * tr 3 and chain 2*. Repeat in every space. You now have 16 x 3 trebles.
Round 3 finishedFasten off. Pull a bit at the tail ends.

Round 4:
Start with a new colour in any chain-2 space. We are now going to make the circle into a square and first we make a corner.
Chain 3 (counts as 1 tr), 2 dtr, chain 2, 2 dtr, 1 tr. Chain 1.
cornerThat was you first corner. Easy, wasn’t it?

Let’s continue with the first side:
round 43 htr, chain 1. Repeat between twice.

Next corner: 1 tr, 2 dtr, chain 2, 2 dtr, 1 tr, chain 1.
Now you have one side done. It looks a bit wobbly but that will disappear after blocking. I’ll explain the blocking later.

3 htr, chain 1.
Repeat between twice. So every side has three groups of 3 htr plus one chain in between.
round 4 sideRepeat two more sides and two corners. Fasten off.
fasten offAnd you’re done! Sorry about this photo, the sunlight was very strong and I just couldn’t take a better photo. I’ll try to take one later and replace the overexposed photo(s).
not blockedI hope it all made sense. Further, I strongly recommend to block your granny square, it just looks nicer that way. See the photo.
blockingWhen using acrylic yarn DO NOT IRON the granny square. I use sometimes a damp towel on it with a slightly warm iron. In this case I’ve only used a plant sprayer.
When I block cotton granny’s I also use a tea towel and a slightly warmer iron.

I’ve used this granny square-pattern to make a cushion cover. I sewed the nine squares (twice!) together and made a few rounds of granny stripes. For the first round of these stripes I used this method. It works really well.

After I made 18 +1 extra granny squares, all in different colour, I placed them on a towel. I mixed and matched untill I had them in that order I liked. With a pin I held them together.
squares on towelI hope you enjoy making and this granny square just as much as I did, and still do! If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to ask.
SAMSUNGHappy hooking!!

PS: It was a great pleasure to make this granny, but writing down a pattern and taking pictures costs a lot of energy and a lot of time. You can use my pattern for free, however when publishing this pattern on your own website or blog please do mention my blog and name, and/or create a link to my blog (you know, due to copyright issues) . Thank you so much!

This entry was posted in Crochet, Finished!!!!, Tutorials and patterns and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tutorial granny square

  1. Liz says:

    Good job with the tutorial. I find it so difficult to write one and it takes up a lot of time, especially, when using photos. I generally make lots of errors and luckily someone will point it out to me. My problem is when I do design something, I tend not to write it down thinking that I will remember later. When I crochet, I don’t want to stop what I am doing to jot the instructions down. I guess I am just lazy! Your clustered squares and pillow are very pretty and do look like flowers.

  2. Pingback: Finished …. :: My very own granny square! | Corine24

Leave a Reply

