Money diet

In January I decided this year was going to be a year without buying clothes nor books. And guess what, it is not as hard as I thought it was going to be. Well, sometimes it is when I get these brochures from Bon A’ Parte. Love their stuff. Or when K brings me a Country Living or Country Homes and Interiors from the UK and I see all these great outdoor clothes.
CLDead expensive, of course. I am aware that my decision is not helping the economy, sorry about that, but I must admit I sinned twice. Once in Worcester UK, where I bought a packet of underwear (that doesn’t really count as clothes, does it?) at Marks & Spencer (ooohhh, I dó love M&S) and I have bought a book at the second hand shop. Which I already had (oops), so I’ll sell one of these copies. Buying stuff from second shops is not included in this diet, btw. You have to draw a line somewhere.

You might have noticed that I didn’t mention yarn in this money diet. That is because I am, since I started with crochet, a yarnoholic. Hello Corine. I have always liked yarn, I just hated to knit (bad knitting-childhood-trauma, that is, I might tell you the story one day as I am still suffering).

In November 2013 I started to learn crochet which involved yarn. Duhhuh …. And I bought yarn, everywhere I could find it. A ball of yarn here, a few balls of yarn there. I even bought colours I didn’t like, because what if I would run out of yarn, or suddenly and utterly needed this particular colour? I don’t do that anymore, buying yarn everywhere, for the main reason I don’t have enough room to put it. And as I get more experienced with my crochet skills I now know what kind of yarn and colours I like and which yarn to avoid. So when I see some really, really, really yummy colours (and this is an advice!) I purchase at least five balls of that yarn. Even if I don’t know yet what to make with it. But a nice crochet project is never far away, isn’t?
HEMA yarnBye for now,

Xxx

PS: I finished my basket liner, I am very pleased with it. It only took me three days to finish it. I choose the colours at random and I used that very bright aqua-turquoise I don’t specifically like, but in the end it turned out well. The basket itself is 20 cm high and 50 cm wide. The pattern can be found on Lucy’s blog.
Basket

 

 

This entry was posted in Crochet, Finished!!!!, Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Money diet

  1. At the beginning I did wonder about the underwear. I mean if it wears out – you do need it! I never guessed English wasn’t your first language. I have a whole drawer of coloured acrylic but only one of each – no room for five!

  2. Pingback: Book presentation | Corine24

Leave a Reply

